TOWN of SHUTESBURY - BUDGET REQUEST FOR FY25

To: Department Heads and Committee Chairpersons:

The Finance Committee is beginning the process of developing the budget for FY25. A look back shows that FY 24 was a big year for Shutesbury. Departments and committees were able to move our town forward on many fronts.

Facing a number of financial challenges requires us all to continue to communicate and work together. To that end the Finance Committee has volunteered to assign a member liaison to each department. That person will serve as a conduit between your department and the Finance Committee.

We commend departments for minimizing operating expenses. Annual Town Meeting continues to support the services provided for in the budget. We are asking you to present a level service budget for your department this year. This is our starting point. Please review the financial needs required for your department to maintain the current level of services you provide. Make note of changes that may cause a significant increase or decrease, from your FY24 budget.

Attached is the FY25 Budget Request form with the FY24 budget numbers filled in for your reference. We have a schedule of proposed meeting dates. The Budget Request form has a section to note any capital requests. Your full application for capital items must go to the Capital Planning Committee. **Those capital requests need to be submitted to the Capital Planning Committee no later than February 1st.**

If you are a small department that is not on the budget schedule but have budgetary concerns or requests for changes to your budget, please contact the Finance Committee to schedule meeting with the committee.

Please email your Budget Request forms and confirm your availability on your designated date, to townadmin@shutesbury.org, by the end of October. It is essential that your request is as accurate and comprehensive as possible.

We look forward to meeting with you and working together to craft the FY25 Budget.

Thank you for your assistance.

Shutesbury Finance Committee: Ajay Khashu, chair, Jim Walton, Jim Hemingway, Bob Groves, Susie Mosher, George Arvanitis, and April Stein